It’s gotten to the point where I can’t watch TV with my 12-year-old home anymore. The sexual content has been ratcheted up to the extreme. Talk about sex, sexual words, and sex acts are happening on TV all day and all night.

The other night, it was mentioned on a game show pertaining to people dating, “Baggage”, that the man trying to get a date was the President of an orgy club. Then of course, this was written in bold letters shown for anyone watching to see.

My 12-year-old daughter innocently asked, what that was, and I had to say, “I absolutely refuse to explain that to you.” I think the show was on at about ten at night. But that doesn’t matter, because all kinds of sex talk, sexual content and sexual goings ons , are happening on TV all the time.

Please, Disney has their teenage girls dressed like little ho’s, wearing super short skirts, and tons of makeup.

Quite frankly, I’m embarrassed to watch TV with my daughter in the room. Now I know why my in-laws only watch sports, news and the Weather Channel when we are there. Those are the only non-sexual content TV shows on TV. Unless the news is covering the Penn State Jerry Sandusky trial.

Looking back to when my daughter was about eight, I noticed a huge amount of sexual, content including nudity on cable TV. And these were not the premium channels. Up until moving to our current home, I did not watch very much TV. One night about four years ago, I walked into the living room where my then eight year old was playing nearby while my husband was dozing watching TV. Here were “The Girls Next Door”, with the girls completely naked doing a Playboy photo shoot. Some of their nakedness was pixelized. I literally ran into the room, grabbed the remote turning the channel to a safer TV channel, so that my now wide awake husband and my daughter who should have been doing homework, could watch football instead.

Soon after I banned my daughter from doing homework downstairs.

But our children are not safe from viewing nudity and sexual content on TV. No longer is there a family hour on TV. Sexual content runs all day. For awhile there, I could turn on the TV, and watch the Soprano’s on regular cable TV, at eight in the morning. My daughter’s teen friends tell her they watch  the reality TV show, “Jersey Shore.”They think it is wrong of me to not allow my daughter to watch such garbage.

Maybe it’s time we parents started publicity boycotting certain TV shows, or we stopped allowing our kids to have TVs in their bedrooms. An even better idea may be to only allow very basic cable TV to come into our homes, without any premium channels. Just think, parents can save money, and kids can learn about sex by going online.

Any way, you look at it,  we parents are screwed. It’s almost impossible to keep sexual content away from our kids. The only way it is possible is to not have cable, or satellite TV or the Internet in our homes. While not allowing premium cable TV channels in your home, or the Internet, we parents are ultimately penalizing ourselves.

