I want my kids to have a great life. But I also know how hard it is on kids today with being bullied. I was bullied, and given a hard time when I was in middle school. It wasn’t an experience I would ever want anyone to go through. Because I was shy, skinny and tall I was given garbage by kids until I reached about 16.

It was rough. It is worse for teenagers and young adults today, because kids are ganging up on each other on social networks. They threaten, taunt and terrorize kids at school, in school hallways, anywhere and everywhere where teachers,school officials, and cameras are not present to see what is happening.The problem is many kids will just follow a larger kid, or the captain of the football team because they do not want to be ousted from the group.

My parents always told me to treat other people as I would want to be treated. I decided well into middle age, that I want to treat other people with respect, and friendliness. It’s something you would expect from other people right?

With the growth of social networks, kids think it doesn’t matter what they are saying. Teens think things like, ” Who cares what I say to someone else when I can’t see that person and they can’t see me. I can say whatever I want, and do whatever I want.”

But when one teenager is going through a difficult time, it is time for teenagers to stop and think. It is not normal to not accept other people because they are different from you. That’s what makes the world a great place; having different life experiences to lead a fulfilling, awesome life.

Parents need to start teaching their kids to be leaders, not followers. Parents, teachers and school administrators also need to teach kids to respect themselves and other people, and to accept other people’s differences.

Maybe kids should be faced with living life in another person’s shoes for one day to see what it is like to live the life of someone who is really thin, overweight or not popular. copyright 2011, written by Kate Johns who is a talented professional freelance author, who has been writing  since 2004!

